2018 Maryland Computing Education Summit

2018 Maryland Computing Education Summit

When: Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Where: La Fontaine Bleue, 7514 S. Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21061


8:00-9:00 Continental Breakfast and Registration
9:00-9:20 Welcome Address: Chancellor Caret
9:25-10:15 CS Teacher Preparation
(Pre-Service and
In-Service Pathways and Certification)
CS Student Panel IT CTE Programs of Study (Cisco, Oracle, and PLTW); National
CS Framework
and MD CS Standards
10:20-11:10 MCCE: Statewide CS Support
CS Resources (K-8) AP CS Curriculum Diversity and Equity: Why is CS Education Access So Important?
11:15-12:00 Keynote: Jan Cuny
12:00-1:00 Boxed Lunch
Table Topics
1:00-1:55 Employer Industry Panel Out of School CS Providers Cybersecurity CS Educator Networking
2:00-2:30 Wrap-up, Conclusion, &
Next Directions

Keynote Speaker: Jan Cuny

Dr. Jan Cuny is the Program Director of Computing Education at the National Science Foundation (NSF), overseeing the Broadening Participation in Computing Alliance Program, STEM + Computing Partnerships, and Computer Science for All. Before her work at NSF began in 2004, she spent 23 years as a faculty member at Purdue University, the University of Massachusetts, and the University of Oregon.

Dr. Cuny is passionate about increasing the participation of women and minorities in computing. She is a member of the Computing Research Association-Woman (CRA-W), the Advisory Board for Anita Borg Institute for Woman and Technology, the leadership team of the National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT), the Executive Committee of the Coalition to Diversify Computing (CDC), and the Board of Directors of the Computing Research Association (CRA). Dr. Cuny has been honored for her work with an Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) President’s Award in 2006, the A. Nico Habermann Award from the Computing Research Association (CRA) in 2007, Anita Borg Institute’s Woman of Vision Award for Social Impact in 2009, the Richard A. Tapia Achievement Award for Scientific Scholarship, Civic Science and Diversifying Computing in 2014, and the 2016 SIGCSE Award for Outstanding Contributions to Computer Science Education.